Gianluca Ferro

Milan, Italy


  • Gianluca Ferro

Gianluca starts his musical path at the age of 14, Beatles's songs in the clubs of his town. It was 1997 when, at 19, he joins the progressive-metal band Arkhè. This experience marks deeply his musical growth and his future artistic choices. He records with Arkhè the homonym album, which is followed by an intense live activity..

Between 1998 and 2000 he takes part in the recording of many works in the metal area; in 1999 he plays in the album "Chaospower" with the band Fiurach; in 2000 he is called in as to play during Gods of Metal Y2K with the band Khali. Here, Gianluca plays side by side with bands such as Iron Maiden, Slayer, Slipknot, Sentenced, Dark Tranquillity, Edguy, Testament. In 2001 he joins Time Machine with whom he realizes the albums "Evil" and "Revivescence".

With Time Machine he participates in "Gods of Metal 2002", playing with Slayer, Rammstein, Halford, Manowar, Symphony X, Running Wild, My Dying Bride. He collaborates with the band Doomsword, playing two solos in the homonym album (1998); then he enters steadily the line-up of the band and he records the two albums "Resound the horn" (2000) and "Let the battle commence" (2002).

The stand out collaboration with Andre Matos (Angra, Shaman), Kiko Loureiro and Rafael Bittencourt (Angra), and Scott McGill (Michael Manring, Vic Stevens) during live shows in Italy in 2002 (Gods Of metal 2002) were important steps that marked his professional career.

During the summer of 2003 Gianluca performs with Doomsword in famous European live festivals, among which "Headbanger" in Hamburg, "Keep it true" in Wurzburg, "Skeleton Bash" in Innsbruck and in Athens in March 2003.

This co-operations are parallel to his activity as a guitar teacher for the Modern Music Institute in Varese and Milan, at Nerolidio Music factory in Como and by carrying out clinics with Alberto Bollati and Edo Sala.

Gianluca releases his first solo album Involution in 2005 through Lucretia Records, worldwide distributed by Century Media.

In 2007 Gianluca recorded a track which appearead for the prestigious English label Liquid Note on the compilation The Alchemist II, with internationally known guitar players such as Brett Garsed, Bumblefoot, Richard Hallebeek, Wiliam Stravato,Dave Martone, Terry Syrek Doug Doppler and many others. In the same year, the hononymous debut album of Heart Of Sun was released.

In 2008 he joins Strings24, a guitar trio with Frank Caruso and Stefano Xotta. With Strings 24 he takes part in "Guitar day 2008", playing with Paul Gilbert, Mattias Eklundh, Alex Stornello, Marco Sfogli and many others; opens for Andy Timmons in Milan, starts an intense clinic-master class activity and performs in Peralta (Spain) with Patrick Rondat.

After releasing the Strings 24 album, Gianluca determines to focus himself on his solo career and on the band S.H.I.N.E. which represent the evolution of the Heart of Sun Project. S.H.I.N.E. debuts at the Swiss metal temple, Z7 Club, in Pratteln in October 2009 then starts an intense live activity playing side by side with Andy Timmons, Kiko Loureiro and Reb Beach.
In February 2010, Gianluca takes part in OSV Project 3, a guitar-oriented instrumental album featuring guitarists Achilleas Diamantis, Borge Olzen, Marcel Coenen, Jonas Tamas and Phy Yaan-Zek, which arouses the interest of the famous producer Mark Varney.

In October 2010 Gianluca performs at Guitar Day6 in Milan sharing the stage and jamming with Michael Angelo Batio, Daniele Gottardo, Andrea Martongelli, Alex Stornello, Daniele Gregolin, Tommy Ermolli and many others.

In January 2011 Gianluca releases his second solo album Unheimlich through SG Records, worldwide distributed by Nightmare records and Guitar9 and he becomes coordinator at M.M.I. International.

He's currently touring over Europe , scheduling the recording sessions for S.H.I.N.E. debut album; he's also involved in the Anglo-Italian project "Solis Nigrum" and working on the "M.M.I. International" project featuring astonishing players from all over the world.


Detailed discography - Add release

Title Type Rating Label Release datesort icon
Unheimlich Full-length
SG Records January 11, 2011
A Hole In The Ocean Full-length
unknown October 20, 2016


8 fans
  • sashadats
  • milq
  • Pyzhik
  • mattishreds
  • Derp.
  • Reez
  • umbe2k1
  • CroOZza

You might also like...

This band needs more fans (at least 20) before recommendations can be made.



grande gianlu! Wink