God Forbid

New Jersey, USA


  • Byron Davis - Vocals
  • Matt Wicklund - Guitars
  • Doc Coyle - Guitars/Vocals
  • John Outcalt - Bass
  • Corey Pierce - Drums

Building up a following in the late 1990s by touring with bands such as GWAR, Nile, Cradle of Filth and Candiria, their first full album Reject the Sickness was released by 9 Volt Records in 1999. This album received heavy rotation from WSOU-FM in the New York City area and the band was subsequently signed to Century Media Records, releasing the album Determination in 2001. They played on the MTV2 Headbanger's Ball tour with Shadows Fall and Lamb of God.

In 2004, they released Gone Forever, which increased their profile considerably and earned them a spot on Ozzfest. The next year, they released IV: Constitution of Treason, a concept album about the end of the world. It was their first album to enter the Billboard 200, debuting at #118. In 2005 - 2006, they supported Trivium on their UK tour along with Mendeed & Bloodsimple. In late 2006 and early 2007 they headlined the Chains of Humanity tour featuring Goatwhore, Mnemic, The Human Abstract, Byzantine, andArsis. In 2006, God Forbid's "To the Fallen Hero," won the Independent Music Award for Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Song. They released a DVD on June 10, 2008, and their fifth studio album, Earthsblood, was released on February 24, 2009, and landed at #110 on the Billboard 200.

God Forbid toured across the United States and Canada on the No Fear Energy Music Tour featuring Lamb of God, Children of Bodom, As I Lay Dying and Municipal Waste in April. In March 2009, Dallas Coyle announced that he would not be joining the band on their US tour, leading to unconfirmed rumours that he was planning to leave the band. On March 31, these rumours were confirmed by Dallas's brother and bandmate Doc Coyle. Due to the timing of the announcement, many God Forbid fans believed the announcement to be a prank. His replacement for the upcoming tour was named as former Darkest Hour guitarist Kris Norris. He was later replaced by full time member and Rhythm/Lead Guitarist Matt Wicklund (Ex-Himsa, Warrel Dane Solo).

In July 2009, God Forbid participated in the Rockstar Mayhem Festival along with Trivium, Bullet For My Valentine, Cannibal Corpse, All That Remains, Slayer, Marilyn Manson and many others.

In April 2010 the band issued an update that they have started work on a new album titled Equilibrium.


Detailed discography - Add release

Title Type Rating Label Release datesort icon
IV: Constitution of Treason Full-length
Century Media September 20, 2005
Earthsblood Full-length
Century Media February 24, 2009
Equilibrium Full-length
Victory Records March 27, 2012


22 fans
  • Metal666foreveR
  • Captain Howdy
  • Funkmetal
  • Donkey Revolution
  • ThirdWorldChrist
  • CroOZza
  • xbobxallenx
  • wickedpat88
  • majormorgoth
  • Petrussen
  • Owenay
  • s8n
  • CanoDjent
  • ashcook123
  • way-adf
  • _pureBLACK_
  • pacman
  • irishgreensoda
  • Marinos_Revenant
  • Autonomist
  • tkajr7

You might also like...


holy fuck this is amazing. i've listened to them before but never really gave them too much thought. this album though....

Have had this release for almost a week now, & I must say, it is one of their best. Just as hard as any release before, with sensitivities never done so well, by God Forbid. With the brother, Coyle gone, one would assume God Forbid would have had a hard time finding the ability to move forward. Not so. It toes the line between metalcore & djent, with traces of thrash & death. This will be the under-rated release of 2012. If you want something solid during a lull in Djent releases or just want something bad-ass. Buy, Equilibrium.


Have faith. Most here probably do not have a God Forbid release, so this perhaps being their first one, will be an awesome dawning.

I do commend your site for taking a release for what it is, instead of judging a total body of work of a band to determine their place here, on the site.


Their new album is going to be djenty?

Oh boy.

That's why they're in the database now Smile Let's see how long it takes for someone to make an idiotic remark about it Tongue

I have been a fan of this band for years. I am especially interested in their up-coming release. Supposedly, it's going into the realm of djent! Can not wait!