Perth, Australia


  • Ian Kenny - Vocals
  • Andrew Goddard - Guitar
  • Mark Hosking - Guitar
  • Jon Stockman - Bass
  • Steve Judd - Drums

Karnivool developed from a high school band formed in 1997 in Perth, Western Australia, which played parties using a set of covers of Nirvana and Carcass with some original songs mixed in as well. By 1998, lead singer Ian Kenny changed their set to entirely original songs, removed all early members and officially named the band Karnivool, derived from an anecdotal description that the original members were "a bunch of clowns" around Perth

Between 1998 and 2004, the band went through a number of line-up changes. The 1998 incarnation of Karnivool consisted of Kenny on lead vocals, Andrew 'Drew' Goddard on lead guitar, Andrew Brown on bass guitar and Brett McKenzie on drums. In 2000, Brown was replaced by Jon Stockman. Shortly after, McKenzie also left and Ray Hawking joined on drums. Mark Hosking joined as a second guitar player in 2003 and in late 2004 Steve Judd on drums replaced Hawking. This would result as the band's current line-up of Kenny, Goddard, Hosking, Stockman and Judd.

In 1999 the band released its debut self-titled EP, "Karnivool". This consisted of 4 tracks, named "Fool Me", "Konkrete Seed", "Box" and "Some More of the Same". This album did not get a lot of recognition, with many stores and archives listing their second EP, Persona, released in March 2001 as their first record. Persona consisted of four new tracks and a re-release of the song "Some More of the Same" from the first EP.

After releasing "Persona", they won the Western Australian State Final of the National Campus Band Competition, and they competed in the National Finals held in Hobart, Tasmania. In October, the band were chosen to support the Rollins Band, but due to the Ansett collapse, Henry Rollins and his band were forced to cancel their Perth show. At the end of 2001, however, the band did end up playing a support concert for Fear Factory.

Goddard wrote the tracks for "Themata", their first album, and he stated that Karnivool played songs from "Themata" together as a band only after it was recorded. Goddard not only wrote the tracks and played guitar, but also played drums on every track except "Lifelike", as Steve Judd had not yet joined the band. "Themata" was released independently on 7 February 2005, and was distributed via MGM Distribution. On 23 August 2006, Karnivool signed a licensing deal with indie label Bieler Bros. Records. The album was issued in the US on 10 April 2007 and in the UK on 7 May. The band also re-released the "Persona" EP 12 December, following the success of Themata. The album was produced by Forrester Savell.

Karnivool toured on the Homeland Security Tour shortly after the release of "Themata". In late 2007, they took part in the Great American Rampage Tour in North America. After returning from touring in the US, Karnivool returned to Australia in 2008. They entered the studio to write their follow-up to "Themata". Goddard stated the new album, "Sound Awake" would be a huge step up from "Themata", while Stockman stated that the writing process of the new record had been more of a collaborative group effort by the band than previous works, and that they were going into the studio with a new recording strategy: trying to focus less on minute details, and put together a more natural sounding album. The album was again produced and mixed by Forrester Savell.

The band continued to tour Australia as well, including the Big Day Out tour, Pyramid Rock Festival, Southbound and Homebake. During their live performances in the Aeons Tour, they played some of the new songs from the album such as "Goliath", "Deadman", "Pearogram" (All I Know), and "New Day". At Homebake in 2008 they debuted a fifth new song entitled "Set Fire to the Hive", which was confirmed as the first single from the album. The new songs were considered more mature, while still bearing resemblance to the band's previous work.

On 26 April 2009 the video for "Set Fire to the Hive" was released and on 9 May had peaked at No. 11 on the AIR Top 20 singles charts. The album was released on 5 June 2009. It debuted at No. 2 on the ARIA Album Charts. and No. 1 on the AIR Charts. In October 2009, the album received Gold certification for sales in Australia. The band toured nationally around Australia in support of "Sound Awake". The band played in New Zealand and then the U.S. to headline "Third Eye Gathering" in Los Angeles. From there the band toured the UK in September and October. On 9 November 2009, Karnivool released a music video on YouTube for their second single "All I Know".

"Sound Awake" was released by Sony Music Independent Network/RED. in the United States and Canada on 16 February 2010. Karnivool followed the release with a co-headlining tour with Fair to Midland in the U.S.

After a successful tour of Europe and the United States, Karnivool returned to home soil and announced another national tour, the New Day Tour. Two Melbourne shows and a Sydney show quickly sold out, unprecedented in Karnivool's history and as a result further shows at capitals such as Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Perth were announced. The band took a break from touring so that Kenny could tour with his other band, Birds of Tokyo but touring resumed by December 2010.


Detailed discography - Add release

Title Type Rating Label Release datesort icon
Persona EP
Sic Squared Records March 1, 2001
Themata Full-length
Bieler Bros. Records February 7, 2005
Sound Awake Full-length
Cymatic Records June 5, 2009
Asymmetry Full-length
Density Records July 19, 2013


133 fans
  • SuenWaiLik
  • atmo1221
  • Tony Lastres
  • Phrameband
  • chasseresse
  • Rdubey
  • JazzmanRM
  • Altrucent
  • nithe
  • aurelio62
  • Josef Kořínský
  • Volframi
  • Rodney Rocket
  • smamow
  • oriontack
  • Dom The Elegy
  • Stainy
  • pam
  • Monolith
  • kadriana
  • Stork_is_love_S...
  • SuperDrummer
  • SanityTheorist
  • mass_chuckles
  • 165Titans
  • RustamB
  • MarckX
  • jooonas91
  • Fredoliiin
  • raistblackmagi
  • Yodocq
  • Pyretta Blaze
  • ElliotCNeal
  • cosmic djentleman
  • thholyghst
  • Ketan kanjariya
  • JoshMessiah
  • dbilidb
  • Mr Krinkle
  • Douglas
  • unicorn
  • skratchy
  • want-djent
  • Distortion
  • lufcforever1986
  • hazgarv
  • danmo
  • neotiluz
  • ashcook123
  • weston

You might also like...

52 fans
51 fans
204 fans
52 fans
54 fans
34 fans
111 fans
20 fans


As stated below, everyplace is the right place for them. Period.

i'm not sure if this right place for them! Wink

They deserve to make it everywhere! Such an underrated band :\

was wondering if these musical masterminds would ever make it here