Stealing Axion

Tacoma, WA


  • Dan Forbrich - Guitar, Vocals
  • Josh DeShazo - Guitar, Vocals
  • Phil Wilmarth - Bass, Vocals
  • Will Andrews - Drums

Stealing Axion is:

Dan Forbrich - Guitars/Vocals
Josh DeShazo - Guitars/Vocals
Phil Willmarth - Bass/Vocals

Pacific Northwest’s Stealing Axion was formed in the winter of 2009 by guitarists Dan Forbrich, Josh DeShazo, and Phil Willmarth. The three friends would get together to hang out and write riffs. Slowly, actual songs started coming together. By early 2010 they self-recorded and released their EP which rapidly spread across the net and garnered them tons of praise from fans and critics alike. With
these songs as a solid foundation, the band maintained a steady regiment of writing and developing their sound and soon had enough material to serve as a full length album.

The band was then contacted by Acle Kahney (TesseracT guitarist and producer) about mixing and mastering the songs. Working closely with him on the sounds and textures of the album, Moments (the title of the band’s debut full length) developed into a dynamic and immense listening experience. The album uniquely combines the ferocity and rawness of modern metal with delicate and expansive atmospheres. The result is a sound that is accessible while maintaining a detailed and complex framework.
"We feel this album is a culmination of the different compositional techniques that we've experimented with over the last few years. We like to take the basic song structures and let them ferment and slowly add layers to the mix until we are satisfied. Some of these songs have taken a while to fully mature." comments Dan.

Regarding the band’s lyrical style, Josh states "We take a somewhat different approach to our lyrical composition. We try to keep each song focused on a single story or concept, while lending to a much larger picture and message. This ultimately leaves room for interpretation by the listener, helping each person to have their own unique experience."

With the recent signing to InsideOut Music/Century Media Records, 2012 proves to be an exciting year.


Detailed discography - Add release

Title Type Rating Label Release datesort icon
2010 Demo Demo
Self-released July 12, 2010
Stealing Axion EP
Self-released August 31, 2010
Moments Full-length
InsideOut Music/Century Media Records August 27, 2012
Aeons Full-length
Self-released November 11, 2014
Eternities EP
Self-released February 13, 2018


314 fans
  • Owenay
  • Duncan76
  • atmo1221
  • AkselBT
  • smamow
  • JazzmanRM
  • djentlewolf
  • Altrucent
  • Jare
  • Misanthropic Ph...
  • ChaoticEmergence
  • mass_chuckles
  • KrYsIs89
  • Daniel-Panda
  • bluestroke6
  • echolapse
  • xsnuffx
  • vbooy57
  • shreddies
  • jooonas91
  • Sollius
  • dbilidb
  • Yodocq
  • static07
  • meghnadmeshuggah
  • thholyghst
  • superconductive
  • The ghost of syd
  • soildiner
  • Lokifilik
  • djentsea 666
  • Donkey Revolution
  • ErikTails
  • Spook
  • Marinos_Revenant
  • tombs86
  • Evenhope
  • Cassius
  • imsurveillance
  • korygain
  • sharksynopse
  • Garantine.
  • NooSe
  • qroxxovert
  • LupineStorm
  • OmriShah
  • tk616
  • ochoarobert1
  • fracturedphase
  • coheed_kilgannon

You might also like...

89 fans
90 fans
152 fans
110 fans
77 fans
125 fans
64 fans
111 fans


I subscribe to Inside Out Music, just found out these guys got signed by them! Congratulations! Also, found out Acle has been producing these guys! Great things happening in 2012 already!

My favorite band at the moment. Can't stop listening to the EP.