South East, Kent, United Kingdom


  • Jay Shields
  • Kai Giritli
  • Sean Moxom
  • Rich Lawry-Johns
  • Ben Atkinson

Subversion (Rogue Records America) Subversion is a five-piece Melodic Tech Metal band based in London / Kent, UK.

Originating from the mind of Kai Giritli (guitars, clean vocals) in 2008, Subversion is a 5 piece melodic tech metal band from Kent in the UK.

Utilising hard hitting frontmanship from Jay Shields, Kai’s soaring hook filled clean vocals, guitar riffs that sway from heavy groove to epic melody, and the laser tight percussion of Ben Atkinson; Subversion like to dabble in the arts of odd time signatures spliced with huge thought inducing soundscapes.

Their first full length album release “Lest We Forget” (2010) was critically acclaimed by Metal Hammer, Kerrang, Terrorizer and Rock Sound Magazine.
Singles such as “Treason”, “Butchered”, & “What We Are Entitled” received airtime on XFM, Total Rock and Radio 1 as well as various international stations across the world securing Subversion a slot on 2011’s Euroblast Festival in Germany.

Having played internationally with the likes of Tesseract, Mnemic, Monuments, Xerath, Hacktivist and Chimp Spanner been a part of UK Tech Metal Festival & Euroblast Festival; Subversion have proven they are dedicated to their art and ready to take on the world. This is not the Subversion of yesteryear.

Press Quote:
Juddering tech metal blends in with the kind of soaring melodies built for arenas to create a sound that is both wall-shakingly heavy and infectiously melodic. Nailing both ends of the metal spectrum, Subversion do serious damage when they get heavy but manage to still get you reaching for the lighter as they reel it in a bit


Detailed discography - Add release

Title Type Rating Label Release datesort icon
Treason (Beyond forgiveness) Single
unknown May 3, 2010
Lest We Forget Full-length
unsigned February 7, 2011
Transcend EP
self-released December 23, 2013
Animi Full-length
Rogue Records America March 3, 2015


64 fans
  • atmo1221
  • smamow
  • Captain Howdy
  • lufcforever1986
  • ssskai
  • deathkor_69
  • ashcook123
  • imsurveillance
  • nitro.gene.k
  • mdiaz013184
  • OrangeRectoAxe2619
  • xbobxallenx
  • Musixman01
  • Lumana
  • dontcountonit
  • Zen214
  • way-adf
  • Streko3687
  • mysteriousdsf
  • Sam_Bell
  • sixcape
  • irishgreensoda
  • Gergereth
  • Lasse
  • Jamonas
  • samuel1
  • Yarrid
  • SyaNidE-
  • dethrucci
  • PhilipB
  • xlisij
  • Neszy
  • Djented
  • Ja5oN
  • Grwonfire
  • daedalus
  • harbinger
  • Hollywars
  • breakdown
  • ScreamJay
  • Meowzer
  • NCM
  • xhulk
  • samforever2009
  • DarkZenki
  • Clarity
  • Djentinator.
  • MetalHeadvega

You might also like...

50 fans
49 fans
49 fans
24 fans
35 fans
56 fans
32 fans
77 fans


A couple of tracks have been revamped from "Lest We Forget" on the new EP "Transcend". Might be worth having a look Smile

sick album but I wish they would remaster it cause the quality was terrible

That scream at the beginning of Bypass is f**king mental!