Geneva, Switzerland


  • Thomas "Drop" Betrisey - Guitars, Electronics
  • Benjamin Nominet - Vocals
  • Kevin Choiral - Drums
  • Ales Campanelli - Bass

Switzerland-based act Sybreed started with the meeting of guitar player Drop and singer Benjamin, who both aimed to create a mix of groovy yet aggressive metal and industrial music, with conceptual contents revolving around existentialist philosophy as well as dystopian and transhumanist themes, linking the band to the Cyber-Punk subculture.

Formed in 2003, their debut album was released in 2004 and called “Slave Design” . It was very well received in the undergound scene and media, and gave Sybreed the opportunity to tour extensively and share their vision of futuristic metal. Since then, and during their nine years of existence, the band has stuck to their personal blend of genres. Their second LP entitled “Antares”, was released in 2007 and featured drummer Dirk Verbeuren (Scarve, Soilwork). That album disclosed the darker elements in Sybreed's sound. The 2009 effort “The Pulse of Awakening” was considered as a milestone in the band’s career and in terms of pushing the musical boundaries even further both in writing and production. The band rebaptized their music from Cyber-Metal to what the band described as “Death Wave” Metal.

Those albums helped Sybreed gain exposure on a worldwide scale. The band toured very frequently on each continent with international acts like In Flames, Deathstars, Samael and Threat Signal to name a few and headlined a two week tour in Australia. The band also appeared in several big summer festivals such as the Download festival in the UK, becoming the first Swiss band playing there, Hellfest in France, Brutal Assault Festival in Czech Republic or MetalCamp in Slovenia…

Having spent several months in studio teaming up with Rhys Fulber ( Fear Factory, Paradise Lost, Conjure One) for arrangements and mixing, Sybreed is ready to unleash their fourth metallic/digital hybrid called “God Is An Automaton”.


Detailed discography - Add release

Title Type Rating Label Release datesort icon
Slave Design Full-length
Reality Entertainment September 7, 2004
Antares Full-length
Listenable Records October 1, 2007
Listenable Records July 21, 2009
The Pulse of Awakening Full-length
Listenable Records November 16, 2009
Challenger EP
Listenable Records April 23, 2011
God is an Automaton Full-length
Listenable Records September 24, 2012


307 fans
  • AXEL071721
  • atmo1221
  • bryaug
  • GlassCastle
  • smamow
  • Xtrazyx
  • mdiaz013184
  • Hakri
  • Manochon
  • Metal666foreveR
  • Aleksi Halla
  • taguiars
  • Pazi
  • Stainy
  • Misanthropic Ph...
  • EnormousName
  • Captain Howdy
  • Funkmetal
  • cmdthall
  • Cinamphetamyne
  • bloody-hell-31
  • Yodocq
  • o-AAKASH-o
  • Blasios
  • shonfinix
  • Mr Krinkle
  • Lucius
  • Dilidjent
  • JazzmanRM
  • Michael Wendrell
  • riverdragon90
  • Zero2Nothing86
  • steptonone
  • Donkey Revolution
  • Hens92
  • mocnidabar
  • absensanity
  • GiorgioG
  • JpDjentaoust
  • Nils Courbaron
  • zeroone001zeroone
  • oxofes
  • coheed_kilgannon
  • OmriShah
  • f13spok
  • Pekklencio
  • cloakedsoar
  • ochoarobert1
  • alex4paok

You might also like...

89 fans
244 fans
111 fans
321 fans
152 fans
91 fans
93 fans
90 fans


OMG! I forgot about these guys. Going to download their stuff right now!

My favourite band!

I cannot believe I didn't find this band earlier. They are AMAZING.