Euroblast Festival band competition: the results


Band competition: the results

Last Tuesday we closed the polls for the Euroblast Festival band competition. The stakes were high: the winning band gets to play at the festival! We've taken some time to count the votes and we are now ready to announce the winner.

First, we would like to thank all the bands that participated. We had a very nice mix of bands, and we were pleasantly surprised by the overall quality of the submitted music. The number of candidates was an order of magnitude larger than we had expected, which posed some problems initially, but in the end it all seems to have worked out.

Second, we would also like to thank all the fans that took the time to vote for their favourites. over 1400 votes were cast! And finally, we would like to thank the Euroblast Festival team for making this competition possible.

Now, onto the results! Let's get straight to the point. The top 10 can be viewed below. Recall that each voter could select a shortlist of up to 5 bands, where the first band in the list would get 5 points, the second would get 4 points, and so on. This means that each voter could hand out 15 points in total. We have included the total number of points that the bands have received in the list.

  1. Shattered Skies - 1064 points

  2. Nexus - 912 points

  3. Tardive Dyskinesia - 543 points

  4. The Helix Nebula - 539 points

  5. No Consequence - 491 points

  6. Custom Made Noise - 430 points

  7. The Interbeing - 420 points

  8. Rxyzyxr - 403 points

  9. Machinist - 353 points

  10. Modern Day Babylon - 338 points

Congratulations to Shattered Skies!

They'll be sharing the stage with Textures, Mnemic, TesseracT, Vildhjarta and many others at this year's edition of Euroblast Festival!

Out of curiosity, we also decided to find out what would happen if only votes cast by users registered before July 5th were counted. Although these results are unofficial, they reflect the opinion of the users more accurately, seeing as many new users have signed up specifically to cast a vote. The top 10 is then as follows:

  1. Shattered Skies - 278 points
  2. Rxyzyxr - 254 points
  3. The Helix Nebula - 226 points
  4. No Consequence - 223 points
  5. Absent Distance - 194 points
  6. The Interbeing - 191 points
  7. Machinist - 190 points
  8. We Are The Illusion - 164 points
  9. Determined - 124 points
  10. Modern Day Babylon - 106 points

So that's that. We hope to see you all in Cologne, Germany on October 21st!

Euroblast festival: vote for your favourite bands


The Euroblast festival vol. 7 band competition voting has now started! 50 bands are battling for a spot on the lineup of this year's edition of the festival, taking place on October 21st-22nd in Cologne, Germany. All users are invited to cast their votes. The winner of the competition will be the band that has received the most points. They will be added to the festival line-up.

To vote, you will need to be logged in. If you don't have a user account yet, you can create one here. It only takes a few minutes!

Select up to five bands from the list at the bottom left of the page. They will be added to your shortlist. Then, you can reorder the shortlist according to preference. The first band on your list will be awarded 5 points. The second band will get 4 points, and so on. The 5th band gets 1 point. This means you can hand out 15 points in total.

Check out the Euroblast festival website for the full line-up, tickets and other information.

Euroblast festival: band competition


The lineup so far for this year's edition of Euroblast festival is unmatched, but it's not quite complete yet. More bands will be announced soon. In addition, there's one spot on the bill that will be filled by a band of the users' choosing. Time for a band competition!

That's right: the winner of this band competition will play at Euroblast Festival vol. 7 in Cologne, Germany. All bands interested in participating can apply here.

The deadline for band applications is June 27th. The winner will be chosen by the users, who will be able to vote for their favourite bands.

More information is available on the band application form.

Euroblast Festival vol. 7 on Facebook
Euroblast Festival vol. 7 on
Band application form

Ever Forthright: tab for 'Dispose of Your Optimism', competition announced


Ever Forthright have released the tab for their song 'Dispose of Your Optimism', along with a video cover competition based around it. The band have also posted a droid ringtone done by vocalist Chris Barretto. A guitar playthrough video for it was released last year.

Flood The Sun: guest vocals from The Arusha Accord, competition announced


Jack Pope, guitarist of Chronographs, has announced that Flood The Sun, his collaboration project with Levi Miah of The Forest Speaks, will work with vocalist Paul Green of The Arusha Accord for an upcoming single, titled 'Act Six'. They have also launched a video cover competition based around their song 'Act Two', which is featured on their debut self-titled EP.

Periphery: tour update video available, guest musicians and competition announced


Periphery have uploaded a tour update video (posted below). It features information about a competition the band is running which will give a fan the chance to write the concept or lyrics for a new Periphery song.

In the video, the band also reveals a few details about some of the guest musicians who will be appearing on the band's upcoming self-titled debut album due to be released on 20th April. These include guitar solos from Jeff Loomis (Nevermore) on 'Racecar' and Nolly Getgood (Red Seas Fire) on 'Totla Mad', as well as vocal contributions from Elliot Coleman (Sky Eats Airplane, Of Man Not Of Machine) and Casey Sabol (ex-Periphery).

UPDATE: The video ( seems to have been unpublished in the meantime. Presumably it was not supposed to be posted yet.

UPDATE 2: It's back. Watch it below.

Syndicate content