Recent articles

Invocation: new teaser available on Myspace


A clip of a new song in the making, 'Sector 3', has been added to Invocation's Myspace page. The band are currently writing an EP, which is nearly finished. The recording process will be started very soon. After that, the search for members will begin. The band are currently searching for a drummer and vocalist primarily, and urge anyone who is interested to contact them.

Check out the teaser on their Myspace page.

Carthage drop out of Winds of Plague show, new songs available


Carthage report that they have decided to drop out of the show with Winds of Plague and Despised Icon at the Ottobar in Baltimore, Maryland on February 3rd. They are planning some other gigs in the near future. Lead guitarist Tre Watson says: "Yeah it sucks, but it gives us more time to focus on getting everything good and tight, and getting this material the way it needs to be, because i know people will want us at the peak of our game when we go out. don't worry, Outerloop [Management] has been talking to us and wants us to play a few Baltimore shows, possibly the Baltimore stop on the Summer Slaughter Tour."

The band had been planning on releasing a demo with vocals, but it has since been scrapped. They will be redoing some old recordings to improve the drums and the guitar tone. One track off the unreleased demo has been uploaded to SoundClick, listen to it here. In addition, the band has also released several redone tracks, including 'Death in the Night Sky', which is also available on SoundClick.

Finally, they have finished work on a new song, 'Juxtaposition'. It is still a work in progress, but an intermediate version has been uploaded and is available for download at The band have indicated that they appreciate any feedback.

Haunted Shores recruit Chris Barretto, new song available


Haunted Shores have announced that they have recruited ex-Periphery vocalist Chris Barretto. As we reported, Chris left Periphery earlier this year and was replaced by Spencer Sotelo. Apart from handling vocals, he will also be writing music. They have revamped their Myspace page and uploaded a new song featuring Chris: a rough mix of 'When in Oslo'. For the next couple of months, they will be recording the rest of their upcoming full-length album, which is planned to be released this summer.

Listen to 'When in Oslo' on Myspace.
Read the announcement on Myspace.

The Ocean reveal 'Heliocentric' track listing


The Ocean have revealed the track listing for their upcoming album 'Heliocentric', which is due for release in March this year. The band will release another album 'Anthropocentric' in October. They write that "the concept at the base of both albums is a critique of christianity from different philosophical and personal angles". As we reported earlier, samples of the new album are available at

The track listing for Heliocentric is:
01. Shamayim
02. Firmament
03. The First Commandment of the Luminaries
04. Ptolemy Was Wrong
05. Metaphysics of the Hangman
06. Catharsis of a Heretic
07. Swallowed by the Earth
08. Epiphany
09. The Origin of Species
10. The Origin of God

The band describe the album as follows:
"Musically, 'Heliocentric' covers the largest range of dynamics and styles to date: there are a few really calm songs with mainly piano and vocals, as well as some crushing heavy tunes. There is a very special atmosphere to it that pervades the album."

"Our new vocalist Loic Rossetti has immensely widenened the musical spectrum of this band and there are some songs on the album that even those people who have conceived of this band as being unpredictable and daring would have never imagined."

"'Heliocentric' continues where the 'Proterozoic' half of the 'Precambrian'-album left off, with dense, epic songs and big orchestrations. 'Anthropocentric' is going to be a bit more straight forward rocking and technical, whilst tapping the full dynamic range from acoustic pieces to eclectic heaviness as well."

Read the announcement on Myspace.

Keith Merrow endorsed by Bernie Rico Jr. Guitars


Keith Merrow reports that he has received an endorsement with Bernie Rico Jr. Guitars. He writes: "Bernie Rico Jr. is the son of legendary luthier, Bernie Rico Sr., founder of B.C. RICH Guitars. Bernie has been personally trained by his father in the art and craft of building the world's finest hand-carved guitars. Bernie and I have come up with a couple amazing axes, tailored specifically to my needs and playing style."

He also indicates that he is currently writing a new album, and that he will no longer be playing Agile and Ibanez guitars to record it. His previous effort, The Arrival, was released for free in November last year. Download it here.

Read the announcement on Myspace.

Red Seas Fire: recording footage available


Red Seas Fire have uploaded a video of the recording of some of the grooves for their song 'Epinephrine' to YouTube. Watch it below. The band are currently writing and recording a mini-album of 7 tracks, and will be uploading a new track to their Myspace page soon.

First video of Periphery performing with Spencer Sotelo


A fan-recorded video of Periphery performing Light in Nashville, Tennessee has been uploaded onto YouTube. It is the first video to feature the band's new vocalist Spencer Sotelo, although it is difficult to hear his vocals because of the quality of the recording and other fans singing along with him.

Permillisecond miss Periphery show, new song teaser available


Permillisecond were supposed to support Veil of Maya, Periphery, Circle of Contempt and Animals As Leaders last Friday at The Warehouse in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Unfortunately, they failed to make it because of heavy snowfall. A lot of other concertgoers canceled their pre-ordered tickets because they were caught in a snow storm. The band's drummer has documented his attempts to get to the show and compiled them into a 6 minute YouTube video. Watch it below. The video features a teaser of a new song near the end.

Vortice sign with Kaiowas Records, announce new album details


Vortice have announced that their sophomore album 'Zombie' will be available on March 8th. This will be their debut on Kaiowas Records, with whom they have just signed. The album was produced by Gorkja Dresbaj and mastered by George Marino (Metallica, Sepultura, Iron Maiden, Ozzy Osbourne) at Sterling Sound, like its predecessor, Human Engine.

The tracklisting for the album is as follows:
1. Filed Process
2. Zombie
3. Killer Condition
4. Blood Suckers
5. The Shame
6. Dawn of the Dead
7. Redrum
8. The Uncertain Age

The band will be presenting the album on a few dates in their home country, Spain, which are as follows:
April 16th: Apollo Hall, Barcelona
May 8th: Siroco Hall, Madrid
July 15th: Becool, Barcelona, with The Ocean and Moksha
July 16th: Bilbao, with The Ocean and Moksha
July 17th: Mareira Fest, Pontevedra, with The Ocean and Moksha

Read the announcement on Myspace (in Spanish). publishes interview with Eryn Non Dae.


Metal blog No Clean Singing has published an interview with Eryn Non Dae. bassist Mika André. In it, he discusses the writing process, their recently released album Hydra Lernaia, the French metal scene, their influences and their plans for the future. He also indicates that they have already written five songs for their next release, which will be a full-length album. The blog also published a review of Hydra Lernaia yesterday.

Read the interview at

Syndicate content