Recent articles "Math Metal Monday"


Metal blog has published an article titled "Math Metal Monday", in which a couple of technical metal releases of the past year are highlighted. The article discusses Silhouettes by Textures, The Sea of See Through Skins by Tardive Dyskinesia, Deranged Headtrip by CiLiCe and Lazarus by Hacride.

Meshuggah: short interview about upcoming Live DVD available

4 has published a short interview with Meshuggah drummer Thomas Haake, about the upcoming Live DVD 'Alive', due to be released in February 2010. More information about the release date, the track listing and the official trailer video are available on this site. Read the interview below.

Without sounding presumptuous, what took so long to get that DVD ‘Alive’ done?
To be honest I’m not entirely sure why it took us so long! It’s just one of those things that we’ve been thinking of doing for a bunch of years, but never got around to doing! We were approached by Ian McFarland/Killswitch TV about this after he had done the Bleed video for the latest (obZen) album, and his excitement over the whole project of doing a live dvd was kind of what finally got us into gear! So we owe it to him for really pushing us and also for how the dvd came to look/sound etc. he did a phenomenal job with it! I think this kind of scenario is really common among touring bands, in the sense that you got touring, writing and all that on your mind and in the “off periods”, instead of planning for all the coming things you tend to want to spend that time on your family and “home life” (that’s a good thing of course). So a lot of times I think bands need that push by “outside” people/management or whatever it might be to get things started! That’s how things usually are for us at least!

Periphery Working on the New Album


Periphery have announced that they're making really good progress on the album. It should probably be ready by the end of January and released in April 2010.

TesseracT publish lyrics for 'Lament'


TesseracT have published the lyrics for 'Lament', a song off their forthcoming album One, due to be released in early 2010. The song can be listened to on the band's Myspace page. It is the only publicly available recording for the new album so far. It is also the first material to surface featuring new vocalist Dan Tompkins (ex-First Signs of Frost).


I can’t be further away from endless life
Oh my god stars flash before my eyes
I’m slowly fading into my memories
So slowly fading tonight’s the last you’ll ever see
So slowly dreaming the last time
Oh my god so many people leaving me behind
Oh my god remember all those things you tried to hide
So slowly fading tonight’s the last you’ll ever see
So slowly dreaming the last time
Slowly fading I know you’re slowly dreaming

Read the announcement on Myspace.

Source: Facebook

Liquorworks: video of new song 'Chemist' available


Kosti Aho of Liquorworks has uploaded a video of himself playing a new song titled 'Chemist'. Watch it below. A recorded version of this song is also available in MP3 format - it can be downloaded here. The video information on Youtube indicates that the song is a "work in progress", so as yet it is unknown whether this is the final version.

Some other songs are available on his Myspace page and his Soundclick page.

Read the announcement on Myspace.

Textures uploads live video of 'Laments of an Icarus'


Performance filmed at Teleclub in Yekaterinburg, Russia during their Russian Roulette Tour in 2009. Laments of an Icarus is taken from the bands third album, Silhouettes.

Earlier in the month the band also uploaded a video Transgression recorded at the same venue, which we reported about here.

Audio Collapse: part of new song "Panorama" available


Audio Collapse have uploaded part of a new song, titled "Panorama", to their Youtube channel. Presumably, the song will be included on the EP they are currently recording (as we reported earlier). Listen below.

Sky Eats Airplane reveal new line-up, introduces Elliot Coleman into the fold.


Florida-based progressive metalcore band Sky Eats Airplane have revealed their new line-up. The band now features Bryan Zimmerman (vocals) who will replace Jerry Roush, and Elliot Coleman (vocals/bass, also a member of Of Man Not Of Machine) who will be taking the place of Johno Erickson. This is Sky Eats Airplane's second recent line-up change as Travis Orbin also joined the band after leaving Periphery earlier in the year.

Bleeding Skies: new song 'Let me go' available


Darren Cruickshank from Bleeding Skies has uploaded a new song, titled 'Let me go', to his Soundclick page.

Listen to it on Soundclick or on his Myspace page.

Drewsif Stalin's Musical Endeavors Releases "An Insomniac's Narrative"


Andrew Reynolds, AKA Drewsif Stalin from Drewsif Stalin's Musical Endeavors, has released his newest album, "An Insomniac's Narrative". It can be downloaded for free (and legally) from

Syndicate content