Recent articles

Interview with Chimp Spanner


Spinelanguage Blog has interviewed Paul Ortiz about his solo project Chimp Spanner. Paul talks about his influences, his equipment, his upcoming new album At the Dream's Edge, his other band Blessed Inertia, playing live and how he got his project name.

Read the full interview here.

Decibel's Top 40 Metal of 2009


Decibel Magazine has listed their top 40 albums of the year.

40 Funebrarum - The Sleep Of Morbid Dreams
39 Millions - Gather Scatter
38 Municipal Waste - Massive Aggressor
37 Javelina - Beasts Among Sheep
36 Suffocation - Blood Oath
35 Goes Cube - Another Day Has Passed
34 Culted - Below The Thunders Of The Upper Deep
33 Krallice - Dimensional Bleedthrough
32 Brutal Truth - Evolution Through Revolution
31 The Red Chord - Fed Through The Teeth Machine
30 Keelhaul - Keelhaul's Triumphannt Return To Obscurity
29 Katatonia - Night Is The New Day
28 Gaza - He Is Never Coming Back

New album from The Devin Townsend Project lands on Billboard


"Addicted", the new album from The Devin Townsend Project sold 3,700 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 168 on The Billboard 200 chart. The CD landed at position No. 2 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

Mnemic posts new song in Metal Hammer Online


Mnemic posted a new song called "Diesel Uterus", from their upcoming album "Sons Of The System" in Metal Hammer website. You can hear it streaming in the link below.


Metal Blade Records signs System Divide


Metal Blade Records is pleased to announce the signing of extreme modern metal act System Divide, featuring Sven De Caluwe (Aborted) and Miri Milman (ex-Distorted) on vocals, Cole Martinez (ex-Years Of Fire, Antenora) and Joseph Spiller (ex-The Binary Code) on guitars, Andrew Lenthe (Antenora) on bass, and Mike Heller (Malignancy) on drums. System Divide has already completed a video for the song "The Apex Doctrine" off the band's current EP, which will also be on the band's full-length Metal Blade debut.

Canvas Solaris - Irradiance


Some time ago, Canvas Solaris recorded their fifth album "Irradiance" with the same line-up as on their previous one "The Atomized Dream". This is due on January 2010 and according to band members, people should, as always, expect a different sound.

It'll also include a guest solo by Pharaoh guitarist, Matt Johnsen.

Travis "Orbinator" Orbin records drums for Cyclamen songs, video footage available


Hayato Imanishi of Cyclamen has recruited Travis Orbin, AKA "The Orbinator", to record some drums for the tracks off the Dreamers EP. Travis Orbin left Periphery in February this year, to join Sky Eats Airplane.

Dedicted finish recording upcoming album


Dedicted have finished recording their as of yet untitled second full-length, slated for release in early 2010. They have been in the studio since September. Mixing and mastering are planned for November 26th and 27th, respectively.

The band uploaded a teaser video from the preproduction session of the album a while ago. Watch it on Youtube. They will be uploading a couple of video blogs from the recording sessions soon.

Dedicted's debut album, Argonauts, was released on Shiver Records in April 2008.

An Obscure Signal: studio update


An Obscure Signal have uploaded a video with some clips from their recording sessions with Misha "Bulb" Mansoor. They are currently recording their debut EP, "Creations". Watch it on Youtube. Highlights include a visit from one of Misha's neighbors.

An unmixed sample without vocals can be heard on their Myspace page. An Obscure Signal will also be playing a couple of shows across Maryland and Virginia in December and January.

Cyclamen announce upcoming split with Haunted Shores


Hayato Imanishi of Periphery has announced that the release of their full-length album "Senjyu" has been delayed because the band want to focus on getting themselves gig ready.

However, they have also indicated that they will be releasing a split with TesseracT (Mark Holcomb, Misha "Bulb" Mansoor) in January 2010. It will be produced by Dan Weller and Justin Hill (both formerly of Maybe That's Why Humans Drink The Darkness That Is Coffee).

Drummer Duncan Lee apparently can't make it to the studio and will be replaced by "Boris", whoever that is.

Syndicate content