Reviews

Tourbillon Reviews - Tradjectory

Tradjectory - Tradjectory [Full-length]
October 15, 2012 - Redivivus Agency
6
6

On October 15th, up and coming South London based progressive metal outfit Tradjectory released their debut album. Having seen some impressive live footage of them supporting Ravenface at the Garage at an earlier gig- one that I’d missed due to the battering my wallet took at the UK Tech Metal Fest where Id watched them sneakily jump on the bill last minute (filling in for a band that dropped out), I decided to check out their self-titled first full-length release.

Intervals - In Time

October 30, 2012 - Self-released
8
8

Canada isn’t a place I’ve ever been to, but media representation has led me to believe it is a land of snow, ice, snow, trees, lakes, rare and often dangerous animals, and snow. This doesn’t sound much like a place which could brew up a band as cosmopolitan, tech-savvy and generally nice as Intervals, who hail from Toronto, Ontario! Having created a fair racket with their debut EP, ‘The Space Between’, last December, I was intrigued to hear what they’d come up with this time round with their new release ‘In Time’.

Solid Newcomers

October 21, 2012 - unknown
8
8

It seems like England is one of the few countries that manage to produce band after band that play convincing hardcore. Summits is surely part of those bands, but Summits also adds a sense of catchy modernism to their craft: think Volumes, Structures, and The Ghost Inside.

Robust release

jakeL - Shelter [EP]
September 1, 2011 - Self-released
10
10

Montreal’s jakeL doesn’t get nearly as much attention as a lot of other postrock/metal bands like Cloudkicker or Proghma-C do, and it’s hard to think of a good reason why. It’s possible that it’s simply due a lack of exposure. I think the reason goes even deeper however, and relates to the band’s music itself.

Aviations: A Declaration of Sound

October 13, 2012 - unsigned
10
10

Aviations, a 5 piece, Berklee based metal group, released their debut album on October 13. After almost a year of intensive work, the album turned out beautifully. Each track offers something unique, yet all have the unifying quality of being written and performed by this talented group of students.

Invent the Universe

Sithu Aye - Invent the Universe [Full-length]
October 15, 2012 - Self-released
8
8

Sithu Aye has grown popular over the last year ever since his first release ‘Cassini’. Within a year he has produced ‘Isles EP’ and now his latest release ‘Invent the Universe’. Many know Sithu for his likeness to bands like Haunted Shores and Animals As Leaders, he has continued to prove that he can create original music that attracts a variety of listeners.

Elitist Reshape Reason

Elitist - Reshape Reason [Full-length]
September 25, 2012 - The Anti Campaign
9
9

This is the second album I've reviewed this year where the lyrics were written by, gasp, the vocalist. Seems a little ass-backwards, huh? I thought that was the drummer's job. Somewhere, Neil Peart, Henrik Ohlsson, and Tomas Haake are shaking their heads in shame. No, but, in all seriousness, Chris (and Elitist, as the album notes mention) does a fine job of weaving flowing lyrics with your typical metalcore subject matter into the songs. And when I say typical, that's not a complaint. They're good.

The Epitome of Djent

Monuments - Gnosis [Full-length]
August 27, 2012 - Century Media Records
9
9

Ever since I heard Doxa when Century Media/Monuments posted it on Youtube back in June, I knew I had to have this album. When the preorder cycle came up I immediately preordered the US version because I was under the impression that it was going to be released on 8/28/2012. Well, a few days later I got a notice in my email saying that it was pushed back to 9/25/2012 due to a dispute, so I thought "no big deal" and thought nothing of it.

Me Gusta Reviews - Exposures Chronicles EP

July 30, 2012 - unsigned
9
9

Formed less than a year ago, five-piece Exposures from Geelong, Australia, are set to release their debut EP. Chronicles is 18 minutes of hard-hitting progressive metalcore compiled of bone-crushing breakdowns, groovy riffs, and immaculate vocals that is sure to leave you begging for more.

Chronicles opens with an instrumental track fittingly titled "Rain". It is very ambient for the first half, but the grooves and breakdowns make themselves more than noticeable in the second half.

The story goes on...

Aegaeon - Being [EP]
July 20, 2012 - unknown
10
10

Certain people carry the torch that others have dropped on the dungeon floor before running out the back door.

Aegaeon’s third release, the EP “Being”, is an entertaining, thoughtful, and elaborate genrepiece of progressive deathcore with an unusually high emphasis on the ambience that will grip you from the first guitar riff and devastation of “Demise”.