Reviews

First review: Lithium Dawn

Lithium Dawn - Aion [Full-length]
April 18, 2012 - Self-Release
9
9

Lithium Dawn on first listen sounds a lot like other soft djent bands. But after listening to the album a few times, it really sticks to you. And personally, I didn't expect this band to be as catchy and delicious as it turned out to be. Infinitely interesting. 'Aion' is a 12 song concept album which has a really heavy progressive tone, while also being very melodic.

Skyharbor - Progressive music at its finest

April 23, 2012 - Basick Records
10
10

When reading about the initial delay of Skyharbor's debut album, I couldn't help but feel disappointed. The project of Indian guitarist, producer and general all-round nice guy Keshav Dhar, Skyharbor has had plaudits from the likes of ex-Megadeth guitarist Marty Friedman among others.

Too Much Tompkins Saturates the Music

April 23, 2012 - Basick Records
8
8

That’s right, I said it. Even I was surprised I could only handle so much of the chosen boy’s golden voice, but more on that later…

Skyharbor-Blinding White Noise: Illusion & Chaos

April 23, 2012 - Basick Records
9
9

Around this time last year, the UK music press got a collective hard-on for Djent. The Guardian, Metal Hammer and Terrorizer all ran pieces on the scene. Bands like TesseracT, Periphery and Animals as Leaders blew up with a slew of decent (and mostly debut) albums. From those pieces plenty of other bands got some exposure; Chimp Spanner, Uneven Structure and Circles to name a few, but my favourite was a one man project from India named Skyharbor.

A great future awaits

End Of Crisis - Cycles [Full-length]
April 2, 2012 - unknown
8
8

Montreal is often mentioned when talking about metal bands, and the only one which comes to mind are the djent juggernauts, Ion Dissonance. But now, claiming their stake of the big metal pie is melodic hardcore band, End Of Crisis.

Meshuggah Still Refuses to be Subdued

Meshuggah - Koloss [Full-length]
March 23, 2012 - Nuclear Blast Records
9
9

I won't take the time to write a long introduction for this review. Everyone here should know who Meshuggah are, everyone here should have heard a large portion of their work by now. As always, they are still defying expectations. 'Koloss' is, of course, a phenomenally good record, and more than that; I really like it. It's phenomenal. If you're interested in why, read on.

Reshaping the deathcore universe

Aegaeon - Dissension [Full-length]
August 15, 2011 - unknown
9
9

So what comes to mind when thinking of deathcore? Although the word itself generally means “overdone” and is commonly used to describe how mindless this genre is, how does this represent itself in music or more specifically heavy metal? When defining the genre, structure is always brought up as a defining characteristic, with artists testing their playing abilities and whether they can keep time in controlled chaos. It seems that Aegaeon's first full-length finally got the answer everybody was waiting for.

Veil Of Maya - Eclipse

Veil Of Maya - Eclipse [Full-length]
February 28, 2012 - Sumerian Records
5
5

If there was ever such a thing as “playing it safe” in metal, “Sumeriancore” or whatever you want to call it really hits the nail on the head: the repeated and regurgitated guitar tone and emphasis on riffs galore, with little actual musical substance, start to drive me insane after about 2 minutes of listening. The added annoyance of vocals that offer very little in terms of emotion or lyrical communication (audibly at any rate), meant this was not music I ever really enjoyed. Until 2011, for this was when Born of Osiris released ‘The Discovery’.

Sees, a band with an indestructible backbone

Sees - The enD [Full-length]
March 1, 2011 - Self-released
10
10

Heres that overdue review the band deserves.

I've been following Sees before their debut album. At the time I had been lurking on another forum called 7string. I had heard sound tests/short demos by them, and thought it was pretty cool, but I had underestimated their production of the album. Upon their release of "The enD" I downloaded it to my ipod and took a ride on the train. Just listening to the album changed my life. It was unbelievable. That cutting tone, that voice with Jens kidman's structure, those swift/tight drums.

Haunted Shores Album Review - Ben Parr

April 30, 2010 - Self-released
10
10

Having not had too much contact with half of the split, this is going to be based on the Haunted shores content of the full version of this album.

Discovering Haunted shores was something of a revelation for me, as I imagine it was for many young aspiring artists. The mixture of complex and beautiful chords with simple structures and great riffing thrown over that signature "Misha" tone could make any album sound fantastic. That why this album was a real breakthrough for me when it comes to songwriting and the way you can look at creating a Djent album.